Software Testing Life Cycle

Software Testing Life Cycle (STLC) defines the steps/stages/phases in testing of software. However, there is no fixed standard of STLC in the world and it basically varies as per the following:

  • Software Development Life Cycle
  • Whims of the Management

Nevertheless, Software Testing Life Cycle, in general, comprises of the following phases:

Software Testing Life Cycle


Phase Activity Deliverables
Requirements/ DesignReview Review the software requirements and design Review defect reports
Test Planning Once you have gathered a general idea of what needs to be tested, you ‘plan’ for the tests
  • Test Plan
  • Test Estimation
  • Test Schedule
Test Designing You design/detail your tests on the basis of detailed requirements/design of the software
  • Test Cases/ Test Scripts/Test Data
  • Requirements Traceability Matrix


Test Environment Setup You setup the test environment (server/client/network, etc) with the goal of replicating the end-users’ environment.
  • Test Environment


Test Execution You execute your Test Cases/Scripts in the Test Environment to see whether they pass
  • Test Results (Incremental)
  • Defect Reports


Test Reporting You prepare various reports for various stakeholders.
  • Test Results (Final)
  • Test/Defect Metrics
  • Test Closure Report